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Would the absence of the proposed rule significantly
harm or endanger the public health, welfare, or safety? Yes

Is there a reasonable relationship between the
state’s police power and the protection of the

public health, safety, or welfare? Yes

Is there another, less restrictive method of
regulation available that could adequately protect

the public? No

Does the proposed rule have the effect of directly
or indirectly increasing the costs of any goods or

services involved and, if so, to what degree? No

Is the increase in cost, if any, more harmful to the
public than the harm that might result from the

absence of the proposed rule?

Are all facets of the rulemaking process designed
solely for the purpose of, and so they have, as

their primary effect, the protection of the public? Yes
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Does the proposed rule have an economic impact? No

if the proposed rule has an economic impact, the proposed rule is required to be accompanied by a fiscal
note prepared in accordance with subsection (f) of Section 412223, Code of Alabama 1975.
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Chapter 22, Title 41, Code of Alabama 1975, and that It conforms to all applicable filing requirements of the
Administrative Procedure Division of the Legislative Reference Service.
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ALABANA ELECTRONIC SECURITY BOARD OF LICENSURE

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Electronic Security Board of Licensure

RULE NO. & TITLE: 304-X-1-.03 Fees

INTENDED ACTION: To Amend Rule

SUBSTANCE OF PROPOSED ACTION:

In order to comply with ACT 2013-221, amend code to include a reduction
in fees for a Qualifying Agent from $75 annually to $25 annually with a maximum
of $75. Also, to exclude antiquated language regarding the phasing in of the two-
year licensing period and the fees involved. Also, to include language regarding
Monitoring Stations.

TIME, PLACE, MANNER OF PRESENTING VIEWS:

Written comments may be submitted to: Alabama Electronic Security
Board of Licensure, 7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392, Montgomery, AL 36116.

Public Hearing: Tuesday, August 16, 2016, 9:30 a.m., Alabama Industrial
Development Training Center, One Technology Court, Montgomery, AL

FINAL DATE FOR COMMENT AND COMPLETION OF NOTICE:

August 16, 2016

CONTACT PERSON AT AGENCY:

Lynne Taunton, Executive Secretary

Alabama Electronic Security Board of Licensure
7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392

Montgomery, AL 36116.

Telephone # 334-264-9388.

Lynné Taunton, Executive Secretary




304-X-1-.03 Fees.
1 Fees are to be paid to the Board of Licensure by certified cashier’s
check or by money order:

Administrative Fee

Partnership or Sole Proprietorship
Company or Corporation
Branch Location

Qualifying Agent (the person responsible)

Classification Registrant / Individual
Lost/Replacement ID Card

Return Check

Monitoring Station Annual Fee

$150.00 One time fee upon the first
application or late renewal

$150.00 Annually
$200.00 Annually

$200.00 Annually

25 Annually per

classification, maximum $75

Annually
$25.00 Annually
$12.50 Issued
Maximum amount allowed by
law

Company License Fee $200.00, Plus
$12.50 per monitoring operator.

&)

certified cashier’s check or money order:
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Fees are to be paid to the Alabama Burean of Investigation (ABI) by



Fee for processing New Applicant

FBI criminal background report Range from $41.50 to $61.00

Fee for processing criminal background

report from ABI Form-46 Range from $25.00 to $32.00

& (3) If the applicant fails to renew license within 30 days of expiration, he

or she must reapply as a new applicant.

©« Effective for licensing year 2015, when all licenses will be on a two-
year basis, a new company or new applicant's fees will determine based on the date
of the application according to the following schedule: (a) If applying prior to or in the first
six months of the two-year, the fees will double the annual fees. (b) If applying in the
second six months of the two-year term, the fees wilt be one and one-half times the annual
fees. (c) If applying in the third six months of the-two-year term, the fees will be equal to the
annual fees. (d) If applying in the last six months of the two-year term, the fees will be one-
half of the annual fees. ‘

A (5) All companies, unless specifically exempt by Chapter 1A of Title
34, Code of Ala. 1975, which sell, install, monitor or otherwise operate in the burglar
alarm, electronic access control, monitoring station, CCTV, or locksmith business in the
State of Alabama must obtain a license from this Board in a timely manner or shall be
subject to the following monetary penalties:

(a) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic access
control, monitoring station, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew a license by the
licensee's designated expiration date (as evidenced by the postmark date) shall be required to
submit a new applicant application and shall pay all applicable fees.

(b) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic access
control, monitoring station, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew an expired
license by March 31% of the current renewal period shall be assessed a $500.00 penalty.

(c) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic access
control, monitoring station, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew an expired
license by May 31 of the current renewal period shall be assessed a $1,000.00 penalty.

(d) Monetary penalties may be imposed and collected by the staff.
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(e) All monétary penalties must be individually approved by the Board at
the next official Board meeting following staff notification.

)] Following notice of an assessed monetary penalty, a licensee and/or
Qualitying Agent (QA) must make a written and /or in person appeal of extenuating
circumstances for non-licensure or late renewal to the Board at the next meeting. If no

appeal is provided to the Board at its next official meeting, the monetary penalty shall be due
and payable.

(g) The Board may reduce or cancel any monetary penalty following an
appeal hearing. :

Author: Fred Crawford

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1973, § 34-1A

History: New Rule:  Filed January 20, 1998; effective February 24, 1998.
Amended: Filed April 26, 2000; effective May 31, 2000.
Amended: Filed May 235, 2004; effective June 29, 2004.
Amended: Filed November 13, 2007; effective December 18, 2007.
Amended: Filed November 21, 2008; effective December 26, 2008.
Amended: Filed February 18, 2010; effective March 25, 2010.
Amended:  Filed August 20, 2010; effective September 24, 2010.
Amended: Filed November 14, 2011; effective December 19, 2011.
Amended: Filed May 28, 2013; effective July 2, 2013.
Amended: Filed November 19, 2013; effective December 24, 2013.
Amended: Filed May 27, 2014; effective July 1, 2014,
Amended: Filed November 19, 2014; effective December 24, 2014.

Amended:  Filed June 16, 2016



