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Would the absence of the proposed rule significantly
harm or endanger the public health, welfare, or safety? Yes

Is there a reasonable relationship between the
state’s police power and the protection of the

public health, safety, or welfare? Yes

Is there another, iess restrictive method of
regulation available that could adequately protect

the public? No

Does the proposed rule have the effect of directly
or indirectly increasing the costs of any goods or

services involved and, if so, to what degree? No

Is the increase in cost, if any, more harmful to the
public than the harm that might resuit from the

absence of the proposed rule?

Avre all facets of the rulemaking process designed
solely for the purpose of, and so they have, as

their primary effect, the protection of the public? Yes

Does the proposed rule have an economic impact? No

If the proposed rule has an economic impact, the proposed rule is required to be accompanied by a fiscal
note prepared in accordance with subsection (f) of Section 412223, Code of Alabama 1975.
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Certification of Authorized Official
| certify that the attached proposed rule has been proposed in full compliance with the requirements of

Chapter 22, Title 41, Code of Alabama 1975, and that it conforms to all applicable filing requirements of the
Administrative Procedure Division of the Legislative Reference Service.
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ALABAMA ELECTRONIC SECURITY BOARD OF LICENSURE

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Electronic Security Board of Licensure
RULE NO. & TITLE: 304-X-1-.03  Fees

INTENDED ACTION: To Amend Rule

SUBSTANCE OF PROPOSED ACTION:

In order to comply with ACT 2013-221, amend code to include procedures
for the migration to a two-year license term and to change to lowest fee charged
to obtain an ABI and FBI criminal background report to be “$41.50".

TIME, PLACE, MANNER OF PRESENTING VIEWS:

Written comments may be submitted to; Alabama Electronic Security
Board of Licensure, 7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392, Montgomery, AL 36116.

Public Hearing; Tuesday, November 5, 2013, 9:30 a.m., Alabama Industrial
Development Training Center, One Technology Court, Montgomery, AL

FINAL DATE FOR COMMENT AND COMPLETION OF NOTICE:

November 5, 2013

CONTACT PERSON AT AGENCY:

Lynne Taunton, Executive Secretary, Alabama Electronic Security Board of
Licensure, 7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392, Montgomery, AL 36116.
Telephone # 334-264-9388.

ecretary




304-X-1-.03 Fees.

(D Fees are to be paid to the Board of Licensure by personal check,

business check, or by money order:

Administrative Fee

Partnership or Sole Proprietorship
Company or Corporation

Branch Location

Qualifying Agent (the person responsible)
Registrant / Individual

Lost/Replacement ID Card

Return Check

Central Station Annual Fee

$150.00 One time fee upon the first
application

$150.00 Annually

$200.00 Annually

$200.00 Annually

$75.00 Annually

$25.00 Annually

$12.50 Issued

Maximum amount allowed by law

Company License Fee $200.00, Plus

$12.50 per monitoring operator.
Additional $12.50 per photo ID, if

requested.

(2) ~ Effective for licensing year beginning January 1, 2014, this board

will phase in a licensing fee for a two-year period. For license year 2014, all companies

with a name beginning A through H and these company emplovyees shall apply for a one-

year license with annual fees. All companies with the name beginning I through 7 and

these company employees shall apply for a two-vear license with double the annual fees.

Beginning January 1, 2015, and thereafter, all companies and employees will apply for a

two-year license with double the annual fees.

& 3) Fees are to be paid to the Alabama Bureau of Investigation (ABI)

by business check or money order:

Fee for processing New Applicant
FBI criminal background report

Fee for processing criminal background
report from ABI Form-46
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Range from $44-25 41.50 to $61.00

Range from $25.00 to $32.00



34 If the applicant fails to renew license within 30 days of expiration,

he or she must reapply as a new applicant. A-new-company-or-an-applicant-thatapplies
for-a-new-license-after-July1" ﬁ%qwfed*&ﬁweﬁﬁkeﬂe%&aklef—ﬁhe-amaa}%es—pme

(5 Effective for licensing year 2014, a new company with a name
beginning A through H or a new applicant at a company with a name beginning A
through H that applies for a new license after July 1st is required to pay only one-half of
the annual fees and that applicant’s license will expire on December 31st of that yvear, A
new company with a name beginning I through Z or a new applicant at a company with a
name beginning I through Z that applies for a new license after July 1st is required to pay
one and one-half of the annual fees and that applicant’s license will expire on December
31st of the next year. New companies will, also, pay the administrative fee.

(6) Effective for licensing year 2015, when all licenses will be on a
two-year basis, a new company or new applicant's fees will determine based on the date
of the application according to the following schedule: (a) If applying prior to or in the
first six months of the two-year, the fees will double the annual fees. (b) If applying in the
second six months of the two-year term, the fees will be one and one-half times the
annual fees. (¢) If applying in the third six months of the two-year term., the fees will be
equal to the annual fees. (d) If applying in the last six months of the two-year term., the
fees will be one-half of the annual fees.

4D All companies, unless specifically exempt by Chapter 1A of Title
34, Code of Ala. 1975, which sell, install, monitor or otherwise operate in the burglar
alarm, electronic access control, CCTV, or locksmith business in the State of Alabama
must obtain a license from this Board in a timely manner or shall be subject to the
following monetary penalties:

(a) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic
access control, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew a license by December
31° shall be a new applicant and shall pay all applicable fees.

(b) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic
access control, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not ebtain-a renew an expired
license by April 30" shall be fined $500.00 for the current year.

(©) Companies which are currently operating in the burglar alarm,
electronic access control, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not ebtain-a renew an
expired license by June 30™, the fine shall be $1,000.00 per violation.

(d) Fines may be imposed and collected by the staff.
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(e) All fines must be individually approved by the Board at the next
official Board meeting following staff notification.

® Following notice of a fine, a licensee and/or Qualifying Agent
(QA) must make a written and /or in person appeal of extenuating circumstances for non-
licensure or late renewal to the Board at the next meeting. If no appeal is provided the
Board at its next official meeting, the fine will be due and payable.

() The Board may reduce or cancel any fine following any appeal
hearing.

Author: Fred Crawford

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, § 34-1A

History: New Rule:  Filed January 20, 1998; effective February 24, 1998.
Amended:  Filed April 26, 2000; effective May 31, 2000.
Amended:  Filed May 25, 2004; effective June 29, 2004.
Amended: Filed November 13, 2007; effective December 18, 2007.
Amended:  Filed November 21, 2008; effective December 26, 2008.
Amended: Filed February 18, 2010; effective March 25, 2010.
Amended: Filed August 20, 2010; effective September 24, 2010.
Amended:  Filed November 14, 2011; effective December 19, 2011.
Amended: Filed May 28, 2013; effective July 2, 2013.




