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Would the absence of the proposed rule significantly
harm or endanger the public health, welfare, or safety? Yes

Is there a reasonable relationship between the
state’s police power and the protection of the

public health, safety, or welfare? Yes

Is there another, less restrictive method of
regulation available that could adequately protect

the public? ‘ No

Does the proposed rule have the effect of directly
~ or indirectly increasing the costs of any goods or

services involved and, if so, to what degree? No

Is the increase in cost, if any, more harmful to the
public than the hamm that might result from the

absence of the proposed rule?

Are all facets of the rulemaking process designed
solely for the purpose of, and so they have, as

their primary effect, the protection of the public? Yes
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Does the proposed rule have an economic impact? No

If the proposed rule has an economic impact, the proposed rule is required to be accompanied by a fiscal
note prepared in accordance with subsection (f) of Section 412223, Gode of Alabama 1975.
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Certification of Authorized Official

| certify that the attached proposed rule has been proposed in full compliance with the requirements of
Chapter 22, Title 41, Code of Alabama 1975, and that it conforms to all applicable filing requirements of the
Administrative Procedure Division of the Legistative Reference Service.

Signature of certifying officer f%@/)‘ﬁ/ /‘%ﬂﬁ

u)/ (

Date September 11, 2014

(DATE FILED)
(STAMP)



ALABAMA ELECTRONIC SECURITY BOARD OF LICENSURE

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Electronic Security Board of Licensure

RULE NO. & TITLE: 304-X-1-03  Fees

INTENDED ACTION: To Amend Rule

SUBSTANCE OF PROPOSED ACTION:

Additions and changes resuilting from Board’s review of its entire
Administrative Code, as periodically required by law, for currency and to

add, change or remove items in the rule for clarification and enhancement
purposes.

TIME, PLACE, MANNER OF PRESENTING VIEWS:

Written comments may be submitted to; Alabama Electronic Security
Board of Licensure, 7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392, Montgomery, AL 36116.

Public Hearing; Thursday, November 6, 2014, 9:30 a.m., Alabama Industrial
Development Training Center, One Technology Court, Montgomery, AL

FINAL DATE FOR COMMENT AND COMPLETION OF NOTICE:

November 6, 2014

CONTACT PERSON AT AGENCY:

Lynne Taunton, Executive Secretary, Alabama Electronic Security Board of
Licensure, 7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392, Montgomery, AL 36116.
Telephone # 334-264-9388.

aunton, FXecutive Secretary



304-X-1-.03 Fees,

(1) Fees are to be paid to the Board of Licensure by persenal certified
cashier’s check;-business-cheels or by money order:
Administrative Fee $150.00 One time fee upon the first
application or late renewal
Partnership or Sole Proprietorship $150.00 Annually
Company or Corporation $200.00 Annually
Branch Location $200.00 Annually

Qualifying Agent (the person responsible) $75.00 Annually

Registrant / Individual $25.00 Annually
Lost/Replacement ID Card $12.50 Issued
Return Check Maximum amount allowed by law
Monitoring Station Annual Fee Company License Fee $200.00, Plus
$12.50 per monitoring operator.
ditional $12.5¢ hotodDif
requested;
2) Effective for licensing year beginning January 1, 2014, this board will

-phase in a licensing fee for a two-year period. For license year 2014, all companies with a
name beginning A through H and these company employees shall apply for a one-year
license with annual fees. All companies with the name beginning I through 7 and these
company employees shall apply for a two-year license with double the annual fees.
Beginning January 1, 2015, and thereafter, all companies and employees will apply for a
two-year license with double the annual fees.

(3) Fees are to be paid to the Alabama Bureau of Investigation (ABI) by
business ceriified cashier’s check or money order: :

Fee for processing New Applicant
FBI criminal background report Range from $41.50 to $61.00

Fee for processing criminal background
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report from ABI Form-46 Range from $25.00 to $32.00

4) If the applicant fails to renew license within 30 days of expiration, he
or she must reapply as a new applicant.

(5) Effective for licensing year 2014, a new company with a name
beginning A through H or a new applicant at a company with a name beginning A through H
that applies for a new license after July 1st is required to pay only one-half of the annual fees
and that applicant’s license will expire on December 31st of that year. A new company with
a name beginning I through Z or a new applicant at a company with a name beginning I
through 7 that applies for a new license after July 1st is required to pay one and one-half of
the annual fees and that applicant’s license will expire on December 31st of the next year.
New companies will, also, pay the administrative fee.

(6) Effective for licensing year 2015, when all licenses will be on a two-
year basis, a new company or new applicant's fees will determine based on the date
of the application according to the following schedule: (a) If applying prior to or in the first
six months of the two-year, the fees will double the annual fees. (b) If applying in the
second six months of the two-year term, the fees will be one and one-half times the annual
fees. (¢) If applying in the third six months of the two-year term, the fees will be equal to the
annual fees. (d) If applying in the last six months of the two-year term, the fees will be one-
half of the annual fees.

(7) All companies, unless specifically exempt by Chapter 1A of Title
34, Code of Ala, 1975, which sell, install, monitor or otherwise operate in the burglar
alarm, electronic access control, CCTV, or locksmith business in the State of Alabama must
obtain a license from this Board in a timely manner or shall be subject to the following
monetary penalties:

(a) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic access
control, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew a license by December31 the
licensee's designated expiration date (as evidenced by the postmark date) shail be required to
submit a new applicant application and shall pay all applicable fees.

. {b) Companies which are currently in the burglar alarm, electronic access
control, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew an expired license by April-30%
March 31* of the current renewal period shall be fined assessed a $500.00-for-the-current

year penalty.

(c) Companies which are currently eperating in the burglar alarm,
electronic access control, CCTV, or locksmith business and do not renew an expired license
by Fune-30™ May 31% of the current renewal period the-fine shall be fined assessed a

$1,000.00-perviolation penalty.
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() Fines Monetary penalties may be imposed and collected by the staff.

(e) All fines monetary penalties must be individually approved by the
Board at the next official Board meeting following staff notification.

€3] Following notice of a fine an assessed monetary penalty, a licensee
and/or Qualifying Agent (QA) must make a written and /or in person appeal of extenuating
circumstances for non-licensure or late renewal to the Board at the next meeting. If no
appeal is provided to the Board at its next official meeting, the fine monetary penalty wilt
shall be due and payable.

(2) The Board may reduce or cancel any fine monetary penalty following
any appeal hearing.

Author: Fred Crawford
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, § 34-1A
History: New Rule:  Filed January 20, 1998; effective February 24, 1998.

Amended:  Filed April 26, 2000; effective May 31, 2000.
Amended:  Filed May 25, 2004; effective June 29, 2004.
Amended: Filed November 13, 2007; effective December 18, 2007.
Amended: Filed November 21, 2008; effective December 26, 2008.
Amended: Filed February 18, 2010; effective March 25, 2010.
Amended:  Filed August 20, 2010; effective September 24, 2010.
Amended: TFiled November 14, 2011; effective December 19, 2011,
Amended: Filed May 28, 2013; effective July 2, 2013.
Amended: Filed November 19, 2013; effective December 24, 2013.
Amended: Filed May 27, 2014; effective July 1, 2014.



